WLC Honors Convocation 2011

Date Posted: May 9, 2011

MILWAUKEE – Honors Convocation is an annual event that recognizes Wisconsin Lutheran College students who have made outstanding academic and leadership contributions to the college. The 2011 Honors Convocation was held Friday, May 6 in the Schwan Concert Hall. The following students received awards at the event:

Golden Palette Award: Amy Martin
Presented to a junior or senior art major to acknowledge a student’s pursuit of artistic discipline and the application of art skills in contribution to the college and the community.

Vision Award: Jesse Cordes
Presented to a freshman or sophomore student displaying outstanding discipline, involvement, and promise in the field of art.

Gerald and Georgia Brommer Art Scholarship: Eric Borchert
Awarded to a senior art major who shows dedication and adherence to Christian ideals in the life of the student, artistic skills in the student’s chosen area of art, and a dedication to art as a vital element in the Christian life.

Herbert O. Fleischer Scholarship for the Outstanding Biology Major: Kathryn Hendee
Presented to a sophomore to recognize and encourage an outstanding biology major.

CRC Press Freshman Chemistry Achievement Award: Ellen Schwartz
Awarded to a freshman chemistry student who has demonstrated outstanding academic achievement and a high interest in chemistry.

The Judy Voigt Urban Service and Leadership Award: Rebecca Jeppesen
Presented to a student who has demonstrated leadership, academic ability, and service orientation to the urban school community.

Urban Pioneer Award: Elise Henrich, Cody Harms
Awarded to selected education majors who have committed to preparing to become serving leaders in urban education through a one-year urban immersion experience during their senior year.

St. Marcus Urban Scholarship: Kaitlyn Wiese
Awarded to support, acknowledge, and encourage education majors from the Center for Urban Teaching who have demonstrated an interest and proficiency in teaching in an urban setting.

Didaskalos Award: Jillian Finseth
Presented to an education major who demonstrates concern for student achievement and welfare, desire for ongoing learning, and personal Christian values.

Renaissance Award: Katie Ferch
Presented to a multi-dimensional scholar citizen and English major whose contribution to English courses and the larger community is outstanding.

Freshman Honors in Mathematics Award: Dylan Applin, Kristin Martin, Whitney Stibb, Evan Witz
Presented to students for outstanding performance during their freshman year in mathematics courses at the level of calculus 1 or higher.

Von Neumann Award: Leah Feuerstahler
Presented to a graduating senior for exceptional performance as a minor in mathematics.

Nicolas Bourbaki Scholarship: Matthew Boehlke
Presented to a student who has demonstrated the potential for excellence in mathematics.

Cantabile Award: Stephanie Drews, Jonathan Lorenzen
Presented to students who have demonstrated leadership and excellence in the choral program at Wisconsin Lutheran College.

Fanfare Award: Joshua Edlund, Arik McGathey
Presented to students in recognition of musical talent and contributions to the music department in the area of instrumental music.

Golden Lyre Award: Alyssa Ruege, Megan Sonnenfeld
Awarded in recognition of talent and contributions to the programs of the music department of Wisconsin Lutheran College.

Nurse Pioneer Award: Stephanie Pankratz
Presented to a nursing student or students who have demonstrated exceptional leadership qualities such as courage, creativity, or service during the previous year.

Lutheran Hospital Nurses’ Alumni Association Endowment: Thomas Langer
Awarded to a nursing major who is a junior or senior to support acknowledge, encourage, and promote students who choose to enter the nursing profession.

Roger Fleming Senior Scholar-Athlete Award: Erika Laete
Presented to a graduating senior who over seven semesters has maintained a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.4, earned a minimum of two varsity letters in a specific sport, and demonstrated Christian leadership on campus.

Award for Excellence in Theatre: Kristen Kraklow, Andrew Sierszyn
Presented to a graduating theatre major or minor who has demonstrated significant growth in technical theatre, a commitment to theatrical excellence, mature leadership, and visible Christian character.

Alumni Scholarship Award: Jamie Valerio
Presented to a student who has demonstrated academic excellence, co-curricular involvement, and Christian character.

Gary and Sandra Greenfield Christian Leadership Scholarship: Trey Cochran, Erin Mathiak
Presented to a student who has displayed exemplary Christian leadership, as demonstrated to us by the college's former president and wife.

Jerome and Erna Adamski Christian Service Scholarship: Nathanael Rosenberg
Awarded to a junior or senior student who has demonstrated spiritual and community service.

Sharon A. Schoeneck Christian Women's Leadership Scholarship: Elise Henrich
Awarded to acknowledge, encourage, and promote the tremendous talents of some of our greatest resources, that of our young Christian women.

Ken Cherney Mentoring Scholarship: Elizabeth Kock
Presented to a junior student demonstrating exceptional mentoring to an incoming freshman through the discovery, development, and utilization of God-given strengths and resources.