Skip navigation

2018 Impact Award Finalists Honored

May 4, 2018

Band practice

2018 Impact Award Finalists Honored

Senior Joey Ray is the 26th recipient of the Impact Award

MILWAUKEE - Wisconsin Lutheran College students who make a difference and an impact on campus were honored at the 2018 Impact Award Luncheon on May 2 in the Siebert Center.

Wisconsin Lutheran College senior Joey Ray (third from right), an Education major from Thornton, Colorado, is the 26th recipient of the college's Impact Award. A member of the Warriors football team, Ray combined his experience as a student-athlete with his interest in teaching to mentor fellow student-athletes through the Warriors Academic & Leadership Initiative (WALI). He is also making a difference in the community via his involvement in the Center for Urban Teaching.

"Joey represents what 'impact' is," said head football coach Dr. Dennis Miller. "He was involved not just in athletics but across campus, and he has a joy about him in everything he does." Miller also mentioned that Ray is known for always having a joke of the day ready for his fellow Warriors.

2018 Impact Award finalists image

The other finalists for the Impact Award honored at the luncheon were (pictured left to right) Harrison Fleming of Farmington, New Mexico; Brittany Koss of Lake in the Hills, Illinois; Melanie Dodson of Forney, Texas; Riley Meisinger of Twin Lakes, Wisconsin; Daniel Plocher of Glendale, Arizona; and Alexandria Boucher of Henderson, Colorado. Not pictured is finalist Chloe Harbach of Nodine, Minnesota.

The event featured a keynote speech from Rev. Aaron Robinson of Fairview Evangelical Lutheran Church in Milwaukee.

Also recognized at the event were members of the Warriors Events Board and Student Senate, senior Conduct Board members, and Resident Assistants.