WLC Honors Convocation 2014

Date Posted: May 22, 2014

MILWAUKEE – Honors Convocation is an annual event that recognizes Wisconsin Lutheran College students who have made outstanding academic and leadership contributions to the college. The 2014 Honors Convocation was held Friday, May 2 in the Schwan Concert Hall. The following students received awards at the event:

Golden Palette Award: Anna Biedenbender
Presented to a junior or senior art major to acknowledge a student’s pursuit of artistic discipline and the application of art skills in contribution to the college and the community.

Vision Award: Carmenella Staten
Presented to a freshman or sophomore student displaying outstanding discipline, involvement, and promise in the field of art.

Gerald and Georgia Brommer Art Scholarship: Erin Leverence
Awarded to a senior art major who shows dedication and adherence to Christian ideals in the life of the student, artistic skills in the student’s chosen area of art, and a dedication to art as a vital element in the Christian life.

Fred and Mary Beth Schmelzer Scholarship for Studio Arts: Bethany Berg
Awarded to a sophomore who has declared an art major and has been selected by the art faculty on the basis of exceptional artistic and academic merit.

Herbert O. Fleischer Memorial Scholarship: Seth Workentine
Presented to a sophomore to recognize and encourage an outstanding biology major.

CRC Press Freshman Chemistry Achievement Award: Caitlyn Roinas
Awarded to a freshman chemistry student who has demonstrated outstanding academic achievement and a high interest in chemistry.

Salty Earth Pictures Action Award: Jack Albert
Presented to a junior digital cinema and media major who demonstrates exceptional talent in multimedia development and production and demonstrates Christ-centered servant leadership.

Didaskalos Award: Korben Biersack and Hailey Schwartz
Presented to an education major who demonstrates concern for student achievement and welfare, desire for ongoing learning, and personal Christian values.

Renaissance Award: Stephanie Cox
Presented to a multi-dimensional scholar citizen and English major whose contribution to English courses and the larger community is outstanding.

Dan and Lisa Leffel Scholarship in History: Tim Patoka
Presented to support, acknowledge, encourage, and promote students who choose to enter the history field.

Freshman Honors in Mathematics Award: Aislyn Keyes, Ryan Plath, Austin Wagenknecht, Jeff (Fanghao) Zhong
Presented to students for outstanding performance during their freshman year in mathematics courses at the level of calculus 1 or higher.

Von Neumann Award: Jolie (Min) Xu
Presented to a graduating senior for exceptional performance as a minor in mathematics.

Gary Sorensen Memorial Scholarship in Mathematics: Alison Rosenblum
Presented to a student majoring in mathematics who has shown diligence and exceptional performance in mathematics.

Golden Lyre Award: Timothy Kriewall
Awarded in recognition of talent and contributions to the programs of the music department of Wisconsin Lutheran College.

Cantabile Award: Michael Werni
Presented to students who have demonstrated leadership and excellence in the choral program at Wisconsin Lutheran College.

Fanfare Award: Charis Sharf
Presented to students in recognition of musical talent and contributions to the music department in the area of instrumental music.

Nurse Pioneer Award: Kyra Munoz
Presented to a nursing student who has demonstrated exceptional leadership qualities such as courage, creativity, or service during the previous year.

Sigma Theta Tau International Nursing Honor Society: Emily Berkevich, Nicole DiSalvo, Jamie Jensen, Ashley Kolander, Rachel Hoft, Hailey Moldenhauer, Amanda Larson
Presented to nursing majors who have demonstrated professional leadership potential and academic integrity.

Kepler Award: Cody Morse
Presented to a student who is pursing a major or minor in physics and who exhibits virtues of thought and character.

Roger Fleming Senior Scholar-Athlete Award: Erin Greenfield, Eric Zeitler
Presented to a graduating senior who over seven semesters has maintained a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.4, earned a minimum of two varsity letters in a specific sport, and demonstrated Christian leadership on campus.

Wisconsin Lutheran Child and Family Service Psychology Scholarship: Allyson Engelbrecht, Julie Favorite
Presented to a sophomore or junior psychology major who has demonstrated excellence in scholarship and service.

Jan Nelson Gompper Award for Excellence in Theatre Performance: Benjamin Adickes
Presented to a graduating theatre major who has demonstrated exemplary commitment to development as an actor through a professional approach in the classroom, rehearsals and performances; with self-motivation pushing creativity, taking risks, and exhibiting a visible Christian character.

Award for Excellence in Theatre Arts: Hannah Stellick
Presented to a graduating theatre major who has demonstrated and developed a voracious appetite for multiple areas of theatre knowledge and experience, a driving desire for inquiry and exploration whose contribution to activities in the classroom, theatre, studio, and shop has been exemplary.

Sharon A. Schoeneck Christian Women's Leadership Scholarship: Rebecca Guagliardo
Awarded to acknowledge, encourage, and promote the tremendous talents of some of our greatest resources, that of our young Christian women.

WLC Alumni Scholarship: Tom Sebald
Presented to a student who has demonstrated academic excellence, co-curricular involvement, and Christian character.

Gary and Sandra Greenfield Christian Leadership Scholarship: Amanda Frier, Jacob Werre
Presented to a student who has displayed exemplary Christian leadership, as demonstrated to us by the college's former president and wife.