WLC Honors Convocation 2012

Date Posted: May 7, 2012

MILWAUKEE – Honors Convocation is an annual event that recognizes Wisconsin Lutheran College students who have made outstanding academic and leadership contributions to the college. The 2012 Honors Convocation was held Friday, May 4 in the Schwan Concert Hall. The following students received awards at the event:

Golden Palette Award: Joel Hermanson
Presented to a junior or senior art major to acknowledge a student’s pursuit of artistic discipline and the application of art skills in contribution to the college and the community.

Vision Award: Anna Biedenbender
Presented to a freshman or sophomore student displaying outstanding discipline, involvement, and promise in the field of art.

Gerald and Georgia Brommer Art Scholarship: Jesse Cordes
Awarded to a senior art major who shows dedication and adherence to Christian ideals in the life of the student, artistic skills in the student’s chosen area of art, and a dedication to art as a vital element in the Christian life.

Herbert O. Fleischer Scholarship for the Outstanding Biology Major: Dylan Applin
Presented to a sophomore to recognize and encourage an outstanding biology major.

CRC Press Freshman Chemistry Achievement Award: Jeremy Vanderhyde
Awarded to a freshman chemistry student who has demonstrated outstanding academic achievement and a high interest in chemistry.

ETS Award of Excellence: Christie Herther
Presented to education majors who score in the top 15 percent of all candidates nationwide who took the PRAXIS II test.

The Judy Voigt Urban Service and Leadership Award: Kristin Plessinger
Presented to a student who has demonstrated leadership, academic ability, and service orientation to the urban school community.

Urban Education Scholarships: Rebecca Jeppesen, Rachel Larson, Emily Helwig, Nathan Bauer, Allyssa Figurski, Stephanie Kudek, Kristin Plessinger
Awarded to selected education majors who have committed to preparing to become serving leaders in urban education through a one-year urban immersion experience during their senior year.

Didaskalos Award: Rebecca Jeppesen, Kristin Plessinger
Presented to an education major who demonstrates concern for student achievement and welfare, desire for ongoing learning, and personal Christian values.

Renaissance Award: Christina Bender
Presented to a multi-dimensional scholar citizen and English major whose contribution to English courses and the larger community is outstanding.

Freshman Honors in Mathematics Award: Dan Haugly, Nathan Joose, Sarah Kolander, Heather McLain, Alison Rosenblum, Connor Vredeveld
Presented to students for outstanding performance during their freshman year in mathematics courses at the level of calculus 1 or higher.

Von Neumann Award: Jonas Gertsch
Presented to a graduating senior for exceptional performance as a minor in mathematics.

Gary Sorensen Memorial Scholarship in Mathematics: Matt Boehlke
Presented to a student majoring in mathematics who has shown diligence and exceptional performance in mathematics.

Cantabile Award: Meghan Folkerts and Jessica Landini
Presented to students who have demonstrated leadership and excellence in the choral program at Wisconsin Lutheran College.

Fanfare Award: Quinten Petersen
Presented to students in recognition of musical talent and contributions to the music department in the area of instrumental music.

Golden Lyre Award: John Fenske
Awarded in recognition of talent and contributions to the programs of the music department of Wisconsin Lutheran College.

Nurse Pioneer Award: Dan Mulrain
Presented to a nursing student or students who have demonstrated exceptional leadership qualities such as courage, creativity, or service during the previous year.

The Kepler Scholarship: Timothy Kriewall
Presented to a student who is pursing a major or minor in physics and who exhibits virtues of thought and character.

Roger Fleming Senior Scholar-Athlete Award: Alex Merbach, Jenna Neuberger
Presented to a graduating senior who over seven semesters has maintained a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.4, earned a minimum of two varsity letters in a specific sport, and demonstrated Christian leadership on campus.

Wisconsin Lutheran Child and Family Service Scholarship: Aubrey Breuckman, Alycia Johnson
Presented to a sophomore psychology major who has demonstrated excellence in scholarship and service.

Psi Chi National Honor Society in Psychology: Elizabeth Kock, Jennifer Mickelson
Presented to psychology majors or minors who have demonstrated excellence in academic achievement in psychology and a commitment to psychological science and Christian service.

Jan Nelson Gompper Award for Excellence in Theatre Performance: Deanna Strasse
Presented to a graduating theatre major who has demonstrated exemplary commitment to development as an actor through a professional approach in the classroom, rehearsals and performances; with self-motivation pushing creativity, taking risks, and exhibiting a visible Christian character.

Award for Excellence in Theatre Arts: Renee Pottorff
Presented to a graduating theatre major who has demonstrated and developed a voracious appetite for multiple areas of theatre knowledge and experience, a driving desire for inquiry and exploration whose contribution to activities in the classroom, theatre, studio, and shop has been exemplary.

Alumni Scholarship Award: Anna Biedenbender
Presented to a student who has demonstrated academic excellence, co-curricular involvement, and Christian character.

Gary and Sandra Greenfield Christian Leadership Scholarship: Peter Buschkopf, Rebecca Jeppesen
Presented to a student who has displayed exemplary Christian leadership, as demonstrated to us by the college's former president and wife.

Sharon A. Schoeneck Christian Women's Leadership Scholarship: Tierney Gill
Awarded to acknowledge, encourage, and promote the tremendous talents of some of our greatest resources, that of our young Christian women.

Ken Cherney Mentoring Scholarship: Stephanie Pankratz
Presented to a junior student demonstrating exceptional mentoring to an incoming freshman through the discovery, development, and utilization of God-given strengths and resources.