WLC Concert Band director received national honors

Professor Terry TreudenProfessor Terry Treuden, director of instrumental music, received the Edwin Franko Goldman Award on June 20, 2009. This honor is given annually by the American School Band Directors Association (ASBDA) to a director for outstanding personal contributions to the school band movement. The award was presented at the closing banquet of the 2009 ASBDA national convention in Nashville, Tennessee.

Terry Treuden, who holds a master's of music education degree from VanderCook College of Music, taught for 30 years at Wisconsin Lutheran High School in Milwaukee. He joined Wisconsin Lutheran College in 1999, where he directs the WLC Concert Band, Jazz Band, Clarinet Ensemble, and Chamber Ensemble. Professor Treuden teaches music classes, including conducting and arranging.

ASBDA, founded in 1953, focuses on a continuing and comprehensive program for the improvement of school bands. ASBDA began issuing the Edwin Franko Goldman Award beginning in 1964. Since then, there have been 77 recipients.

Past recipients have included such noted music educators, composers, and conductors as Dr. William Revelli, Dr. Paul Yoder, Karl King, Glenn Cliff Bainum, Ernest Caneva, Dr. Harry Begian, Mark Hindsley, W. Francis McBeth, H. Robert Reynolds, Nilo Hovey, Earl Slocum, Clare Grundman, David Reul (of Oconomowoc), Timothy Broege. Dr. Tim Lautzenheiser, John Kinyon, Frank Battitsti, Dr. Frank Benscriscutto, John Whitwell, Ray Cramer, and James Sewrey (a WLC percussion adjunct professor).

Treuden said, "To be included with these music educators is both unexpected and most humbling."