Theatre Department to present
'The Importance of Being Earnest'

A trivial comedy for serious people, by Oscar Wilde

Importance of Being Earnest jpg


Date posted: November 1, 2013

MILWAUKEE – The Wisconsin Lutheran College Theatre Department presents Oscar Wilde's The Importance of Being Earnest November 8-10 and November 14-16. Performances are at 7:30 p.m., with the exception of Sunday, November 10 at 2:30 p.m., in the Raabe Theatre of the Center for Arts and Performance, 8815 West Wisconsin Avenue.

In this long-cherished comedy of manners, bachelors Algernon and Jack are in search of love . . . true love. Cecily and Gwendolen are each determined to marry an earnest man . . . named Ernest. The efforts of the young men are thwarted by their own extravagant combination of wit, lies, and alternate identities. The truth comes out, but we are reminded that "the truth is rarely pure and never simple." Through Wilde's sparkling wit, scathing satire, and ingenious plot twists, everyone learns the true value of love, friendship, family, and forgiveness.

Tickets are available from the Box Office at 414.443.8802 or online.


CAST LIST (in order of appearance)

Algernon Moncrieff - Abednego Samudera

Lane - Thaddeus Bruno

John Worthing - Thomas Sebald

Lady Bracknell - Lachrisa Grandberry

Gwendolen Fairfax - Emma Prost

Miss Prism - Kaylin Pappenfuss

Cecily Cardew - Keela Frederick

Rev. Canon Chasuble - Joshua Scheibe

Merriman - Kerruan Sheppard


Director – Hannah Stellick

Scene Designer – Ben Adickes

Sound Designer – Josh Scheibe

Lighting Designer – Kristen Kraklow '10

Costume Designer – MaryFran Stefanich '11

Faculty Advisor – Prof. Jay Sierszyn

Stage Manager – Erika Peterson

Assistant Stage Manager – Michael Kittelson

Dialect Coach – Prof. Simon Provan

Dramaturg – Kimberly Neuman

Master Electrician – Ashley DeVos

Light Board Operator – Elaina Helmen

Wardrobe – Katlyn Rogers

Makeup/Hair Assistant – Brittany Petersen

Sound Board Operator – Marah Nitz

Props Mistress – Alex Richardson

Scene Shifters – Ben Adickes, Michael Kittelson, Alex Richardson, Katlyn Rogers, Thaddeus Bruno, Kerruan Sheppard